Canberra Chess Club

Minutes of Annual General Meeting - 3 May 2017

The meeting opened at the Hellenic Club in the city at 7pm.

Attendance

Joshua Lee Dillon Hathiramani Zoe Mande-Jones Paul Campbell Biorn Moore Milan Grcic Graham D Saint Peter Johnston Roy Teymant **Curtis Perry Brian Butler** Angelo Feliu Thomas Johnston Richard Baldwin Jozo Rosic Brian Mengelkamp Saffron Archer Ming Han Yap Erick McPherson John Franze Sulia Van Sebille Duc Nguyen Mus Banu Rakesh Sodal Tim Pearce Nathalie Tisserand John Newman Yunxi Xu Athena Hathiramani Robert Johnson Campbell Cunningham Alejandro Liporada Mitchell Jones Syed Assad **David Turnbull** Andrew McKechnie Peter Hughes Philip Vels Erik Jochimsen Bernard Gibson Ian Johnson David Johnson

Apologies

Nil

Minutes of Previous Annual General Meeting

There was no business arising from the previous minutes. The meeting accepted the minutes from the previous annual meeting (moved John Franze, seconded Curtis Perry).

Reports

President's Report

The past year saw a boost in membership. The venue is excellent, large and with good lighting. Finances are in good shape. Amount and quality of the club's chess equipment is suitable. Thanks to the Treasurer for his work during the year.

The club held the full complement of tournaments during the last year. Request to club membership to consider assisting with DOP duties.

The meeting accepted the President's report (moved Erick McPherson, seconded John Franz).

Treasurer's Report

During the past year, income exceeded expenditure by \$400. The current balance is \$4000. The club should aim to reduce this balance.

The club may have to increase charges to \$25 per year at some stage in the future. Rating fees are expected to increase to \$0.85 per game.

The current annual fee of \$20 will continue for calendar 2017.

The meeting accepted the Treasurer's report (moved John Franz, seconded Angelou Feliu).

Election of Office Bearers for 2017/18

The following were elected (all unopposed for 2017/18):

President (*)	Graham Saint	(proposed Roy Teymant, seconded Bernard Gibson)
Vice President	Mitchell Jones	(proposed Roy Teymant, seconded Bernard Gibson)
Treasurer (*)	Bernard Gibson	(proposed Mitchell Jones, seconded John Franz)
Secretary (*)	Peter Johnston	(proposed Roy Teymant, seconded Curtis Perry)
Committee Member	Roy Teymant	(proposed Bernard Gibson, seconded Bjorn Moore)
Committee Member	Erick McPherson	(proposed Milan Grcic, seconded Bernard Gibson)

(*) = signatories to Club bank account.

Non - Elected positions

Director of Play Roy Teymant

Equipment John Franz

Graham Saint

Web Master Graham Saint offered to assist with web maintenance/publication

Other Business

Equipment

Curtis Perry enquired whether there was a chance of storing the equipment at the Hellenic Club. This was asked previously two years ago, and there have not been any further updates. If it were to become possible, the club could purchase a lockable box. Roy/ Peter to enquire about this with Hellenic Club. The hiring of a P.O. box was raised as another alternative to transporting the equipment every week.

Game Rules

Roy Teymant advised that the maximum time that the start of a game may be delayed due to one player not being present has reduced to 30 minutes. The DOP has discretion to alter this. This rule change was agreed. (moved John Franz, seconded Curtis Perry)

Recognition

John Franz asked that the Committee and DOP be acknowledged for their work.

Tournaments

Peter Johnston raised the issue of running a tournament as FIDE rated. It was mentioned that there are administrative requirements, and a slightly higher cost. An informal vote showed that a considerable majority of members would be interested in participating.

The possibility of running a rapid tournament as *Fischer Random* was also discussed. According to the informal vote, most members would **not** wish to participate in such a 3-week tournament. There was interest for a one-week blitz tournament, if this could be fitted into the calendar.

Close

The meeting closed at 7.30 pm.