Minutes of Annual General Meeting - 13 July 2016

The meeting opened at the Hellenic Club in the City at 7:00 pm.

Attendance

Richard Baldwin Milan Grcic Jozo Rosic Mus Banu Peter Johnston **Graham Saint** Paul Campbell Mitchell Jones Roy Teymant Angelo Feliu Nathalie Tisserand Chris Liles Andrew McKechnie John Franze David Turnbull Karl Galli Brian Mengelkamp Micah Wood Bernard Gibson Curtis Perry

Apologies

Bill East Naser Eskandar

Minutes of Previous Annual General Meeting

There was no business arising from the previous minutes.

The meeting accepted the minutes of the previous annual meeting (moved Bernard Gibson, seconded Mitchell Jones).

Reports

President's Report

The president (Graham Saint) reported the following:

- The club had a good 2015 and 2016 to date with good numbers for tournaments.
- The club continues to enjoy an excellent venue.
- The club continues to attract new players, though with some attrition, tournament numbers remained in the 20 to 30 region.
- The clubs finances are in good shape due to strong membership and the efforts of the club treasurer Andrew McKechnie.
- Graham thanked the other office bearers and committee members for their assistance and contributions during 2015 and 2016. In particular, Graham thanked Roy Teymant and Andrew McKechnie for their efforts as secretary and treasurer respectively, as Roy and Andrew were stepping down from these roles.

The meeting accepted the president's report (moved John Franze, seconded Angelo Feliu).

Treasurer's Report

The treasurer (Andrew McKechnie) provided a written report which is attached. The club's overall cash position at 1 July 2016 was \$4,769.78.

Andrew reported that:

- the annual payment option was continuing to be popular,
- the club had achieved a small surplus for the year, and

CANBERRA CHESS CLUB

• some invoices were expected from the ACT Chess Association for ratings fees and club affiliation fees, totaling perhaps \$600.

The meeting accepted the treasurer's report (moved Mitchell Jones, seconded Bernard Gibson).

Election of Office Bearers for 2016/17

The following were elected (all unopposed) for 2016/17:

President (*)	Graham Saint	(proposed Bernard Gibson,	seconded Milan Grcic)
Vice President	Mitchell Jones	(proposed Roy Teymant,	seconded Graham Saint)
Treasurer (*)	Bernard Gibson	(proposed John Franze,	seconded Andrew McKechnie)
Secretary (*)	Peter Johnston	(proposed Roy Teymant,	seconded Graham Saint)
Committee Member	Bill East	(proposed Bernard Gibson,	seconded Graham Saint)
Committee Member	John Franze	(proposed Bernard Gibson,	seconded Graham Saint)

^{(*) =} signatories to club bank account.

Non-Elected positions

Director of Play

Roy Teymant indicated that he would step down from the DOP role from the end of this year, having been the DOP for the last five and half years. The new committee agreed to meet to discuss arrangements for 2017, with Graham Saint and John Franze indicating a willingness to assist.

Equipment

John Franze, Bernard Gibson and Mitchell Jones indicated they would be willing to assist with transporting equipment.

Web Master

Roy Teymant indicated he was willing to continue in this role for the moment. Chris Liles offered assistance.

Other Business

Book Collection

Graham Saint has five boxes of chess books that have been donated to the club. Micah Wood volunteered to catalogue these and provide the list to the secretary and web master.

Close

The meeting closed at 7.30 pm.