Minutes of Annual General Meeting - 6 May 2015

The meeting opened at the Hellenic Club in the City at 7:00 pm.

Attendance

Paul Campbell Mitchell Jones **Curtis Perry** Milos Cvetkovic Michael Kethro Clyde Robins William East Robert King Jozo Rosic Angelo Feliu **Graham Saint** Chris Liles Andrew McKechnie Karl Galli Roy Teymant Peter Tobler Jacob Gowor Brian Mengelkamp Milan Grcic Josh Moloney David Turnbull Thomas Johnston Carl Parkes Philip Vels Sunny Yoon

Apologies

Joel Brindle Bernard Gibson Erick McPherson Neil Mordue

Minutes of Previous Annual General Meeting

The meeting accepted the minutes of the previous annual meeting (moved Carl Parkes, seconded Peter Tobler).

There was no business arising from the previous minutes.

Reports

President's Report

The president (Graham Saint) reported the following:

- The club had a good 2014 and start to 2015 with good numbers for tournaments.
- The club continues to enjoy an excellent venue and a well maintained website.
- The club continues to attract new players, though with some players drifting away, tournament numbers remained in the 20 to 30 region.
- The club continued hosting coaching sessions, with Endre Ambrus providing the coaching. While numbers at the sessions were smallish (5 to 10), the coaching would continue for the moment.
- The clubs finances are in good shape due to strong membership and the efforts of the club treasurer Andrew McKechnie in chasing payments.
- Graham thanked the Hellenic Club for their ongoing support. (The Hellenic Club provides a function room free of charge to the club, subject to availability of such a room.)
- Graham thanked the other office bearers and committee members for their assistance and contributions during 2014.

The meeting accepted the president's report (moved Mitchell Jones, seconded Angelo Feliu).

CANBERRA CHESS CLUB

Treasurer's Report

The treasurer (Andrew McKechnie) provided a written report which is attached. The club's overall cash position at 1 May 2015 was \$4,307.37.

Andrew reported that:

- · the annual payment option was continuing to be popular, and
- the payment of ratings fees was up to date, ie all requested fees had been paid.

The meeting accepted the treasurer's report (moved Carl Parkes, seconded Milos Cvetkovic).

Election of Office Bearers for 2015/16

The following were elected (all unopposed) for 2015/16:

President	- Graham Saint	(proposed Mitchell Jones, seconded Peter Tobler)
Vice President	- Mitchell Jones	(proposed Roy Teymant, seconded Graham Saint)
Treasurer	- Andrew McKechnie	(proposed Graham Saint, seconded Angelo Feliu)
Secretary	 Roy Teymant 	(proposed Curtis Perry, seconded Angelo Feliu)
Committee Member	- Bill East	(proposed Graham Saint, seconded Andrew McKechnie)
Committee Member	- Philip Vels	(proposed Roy Teymant, seconded Paul Campbell)
Committee Member	- Thomas Johnston	(proposed Andrew McKechnie, seconded Mitchell Jones)

Other Business

Time Control for Lightning Championship

The meeting agreed (11 for, 7 against, 7 don't care) to trial a time control of 5 minutes with a 2 second increment for the Club's 2015 Lightning Championship.

Close

The meeting closed at 7.35 pm.