# Minutes of Annual General Meeting - 14 March 2012

The meeting opened at the Hellenic Club in the City at 7:10pm.

#### **Attendance**

Alex Zhang Graham Saint Mitchell Jones Andrew McKechnie Harry Johnson Peter Tobler Angelo Feliu Jason Gillard **Rov Tevmant** Jens Schmugge Bernard Gibson Ryan Keeble Brian Mengelkamp Jozo Rosic Stephen Bartlett Curtis Perry Wais Sidiai Lachlan Smart Dan Salier Milan Grcic William Booth **Denis Jessop** 

# **Apologies**

None.

# **Chair of Meeting**

As the president's position was vacant, the meeting agreed that Mitchell Jones would chair the meeting (moved Roy Teymant, seconded Bernard Gibson).

# **Minutes of Previous Annual General Meeting**

The meeting accepted the minutes of the previous annual meeting (moved Angelo Feliu, seconded Graham Saint).

#### Reports

# President's Report

The secretary (Roy Teymant) reported the following:

- 2011 had ended on a very sad note with the unexpected passing of the Club's president Mosaddeque (Mos) Ali at a young age. Mos had been a stalwart of the club for many years and had been the Club's president for the last four years. He will be sorely missed as a friend and player.
- The Club had enjoyed a good year with a significant increase in players over 2010.
- The Club had successfully hosted the 2012 ACT Lightning Championship (held on 1 February 2012), which attracted 33 players.
- Denis Jessop has written a history of the Club which has been posted on the Club's website. The
  history mainly covers the period to 1954, with some comments and photos regarding chess in
  Canberra since then.
- The Club thanked the Hellenic Club for their ongoing support. (The Hellenic Club provides a meeting room free of charge to the Club, subject to availability of such a room.)
- Roy thanked the other office bearers, Denis Jessop and Brian Mengelkamp, for their assistance and contributions during 2011.

The meeting accepted the president's report (moved Bernard Gibson, seconded Angelo Feliu).

# CANBERRA CHESS CLUB

#### Treasurer's Report

The treasurer (Brain Mengelkamp) provided a written report which is attached. In summary:

Balance at beginning of 2011	\$1,320.00
Receipts for 2011	\$1,415.00
Receipts for January and February 2012	\$760.00
Expenses for 2011, January and February 2012	\$1,592.00
Balance at end of February 2012	\$1,903.00

The meeting accepted the treasurer's report (moved Bernard Gibson, seconded Angelo Feliu).

#### **Election of Office Bearers for 2012**

The following were elected (all unopposed) for 2012:

President	- Graham Saint	(proposed Bernard Gibson, seconded Curtis Perry)
Vice President	- Mitchell Jones	(proposed Curtis Perry, seconded Stephen Bartlett)
Secretary	<ul> <li>Roy Teymant</li> </ul>	(proposed Andrew McKechnie, seconded Angelo Feliu)
Treasurer	- Andrew McKechnie	(proposed Roy Teymant, seconded Curtis Perry)
Committee Member	- Brian Mengelkamp	(proposed Roy Teymant, seconded Bernard Gibson)
Committee Member	- Stephen Bartlett	(proposed Angelo Feliu, seconded Roy Teymant)

The following (non-committee) roles were agreed by the meeting for 2012:

Director of Play - Roy Teymant / Stephen Bartlett / Graham Saint

Equipment - Peter Tobler / Roy TeymantWeb - Roy Teymant / Curtis Perry

#### Other Business

#### Constitution

As there was some confusion over which of two constitutions (both from the early 90's) currently applied, a draft constitution, based on the earlier constitutions, was distributed and considered by the meeting. (The draft had been sent to all members by email earlier).

The following amendments to the draft constitution were agreed by the meeting:

- clause 8, which reads "A member whose membership is suspended or terminated under clause 6
  may appeal in writing to a general meeting and is entitled to be heard at that meeting in relation to
  the appeal." should be replaced with "A member whose membership is suspended or terminated
  under clause 6 may appeal to a general meeting by notice in writing given to the Secretary and is
  entitled to be heard at that meeting in relation to the appeal." (Moved Denis Jessop, seconded
  Curtis Perry.)
- clause 4 (1), which reads "The FIDE Laws of Chess, Swiss Rules (Dutch System) and the ACF by-laws shall apply to all tournaments, matches and games played under the auspices of the Club." should be replaced with "The FIDE Laws of Chess and the ACF by-laws shall apply to all tournaments, matches and games played under the auspices of the Club." (Moved Peter Tobler, seconded Stephen Bartlett.)

# CANBERRA CHESS CLUB

#### The following motion:

"That the Club rescind all previous constitutions and adopt the draft constitution, including the amendments agreed at the meeting, as the Club's constitution."

(moved Curtis Perry, seconded Bernard Gibson) was then passed unanimously by the meeting.

The meeting thanked Denis Jessop for efforts in providing the draft.

### **Memorial Event**

At the committee meeting in January (which was also attended by a large number of players) there was considerable discussion about the best way to honour the memory of Mos Ali, the Club's former president, who passed away in December 2011. That meeting agreed to put the following motion to the annual general meeting:

"That the Club rename <u>The Griffin King</u> tournament to <u>The Memorial Cup</u> tournament in honour of Mos Ali and all past members of the Club."

The motion was discussed, formally proposed (moved Curtis Perry, seconded Angelo Feliu) and then passed unanimously by the meeting.

# Remaining Items Deferred to the Next Committee Meeting

The meeting agreed to defer the discussion of the remaining agenda items (trophies, purchase of equipment, wooden sets, arrangements with the Hellenic Club) to the next committee meeting.

#### Close

The meeting closed at 7.55pm.