Canberra Chess Club


Coaching - 2017


Series 9 of Chess Coaching at the Hellenic Club in the City

Endre Ambrus will present a further coaching series on Sunday afternoons (starting at 2.00pm) on the following dates:

Sunday 06 Aug 2017
Sunday 20 Aug 2017
Sunday 03 Sep 2017
Sunday 17 Sep 2017
Sunday 01 Oct 2017
Sunday 15 Oct 2017
Sunday 29 Oct 2017
Sunday 12 Nov 2017
Sunday 26 Nov 2017
Sunday 10 Dec 2017

The format will be the same as in previous series, with some tactics training to start, followed by an exploration of middle game themes, and finishing with some end game theory.

The sessions will be held in the Atlas Room at the Hellenic Club in the City (13 Moore St, Canberra City) starting at 2.00pm and will run for roughly 2 hours. The cost is $10 per session or $75 for the series. Family discounts may be negotiated!

Endre is an FM (FIDE rating 2316) and experienced coach, so (and as in previous series) the sessions will be entertaining, informative and challenging.

The coaching is aimed at club and tournament players who want to improve their game. Beginners seeking coaching should check the links under the "ACT Chess Association" and "Junior Chess" banners at the links page here.

If you have any questions please contact Endre Ambrus (endre.ambrus@gmail.com, 0401 584 605) or Roy Teymant (roy.teymant@bigpond.com, 0412 249 879).


White to play. Win for white or draw?